VAN HALST Issue Studio Update: Recording New Album, Special Guests Include Bif Naked And More!

VAN HALST Issue Studio Update: Recording New Album, Special Guests Include Bif Naked And More!

Recording New Album w/ Producer Arnold Lanni (Our Lady Peace, Finger Eleven, Simple Plan)

Photo Credit: Renee Robyn

Currently in studio with famed producer Arnold Lanni, best known for his work with Our Lady Peace, Finger Eleven and Simple Plan, Canadian rockers VAN HALST have issued a studio update revealing that Bif Naked will be one of many special guest collaborations on their upcoming 2018 sophomore release to follow their award nominated debut albumWorld of Make Believe”. 

Vocalist Kami Van Halst comments:

“Having Bif Naked collaborate on a tune with me is a dream come true. I’ve been a fan of hers since I was 6 and she was the artist who inspired me to be a rock musician. Bif has such an amazing energy and her voice on the tune makes it something truly special. I can’t thank her enough.”
Bif Naked adds:
“It is wonderful to be in the studio with an artist like Kami because I have such huge respect for her, am completely inspired by her vocal power and emotive delivery. She is the Real Deal, and the fact that I’m a Van Halst fan just makes it all the more awesome!”
VAN HALST released their debut album “World of Make Believe” on March 4th, 2016 to great acclaim from the Canadian music scene. Nominated for a Western Canadian Metal Award and Toronto Independent Music Award, the release debut #8 on the Earshot! Canadian college radio loud charts plus garnered praises from Canadian press commenting the following:

“Goth rock quintet Van Halst takes on feminism, body image and more with impressive debut.” – Beatroute (AB)

“Van Halst incites hope with World of Make Believe.” – Vue Weekly

“Van Halst’s World of Make Believe wants to educate” – Edmonton Journal 

“A fine and courageous album from a band I have no doubt we will hear much more from.” – Hellbound

“If Evanescence and In This Moment dominate your stereo, we’d like to present your new favorite band.  – Idobi Radio

VAN HALST was a project that first began as a solo endeavour for whom the band is named after — Kami Van Halst, but has since become a full group producing socially conscious lyrical tracks that focus on disenfranchised and marginalized populations. The band’s influences stay true to goth rock with Kami Van Halst demonstrating an agile vocal delivery in combination with pummeling growls. Lyrically, the band draws from black metal due to its focus on people suffering from isolation and rising to overcome the preconceptions of a judgmental society. In This Moment’s industrial fusion remains a primary influence for Van Halst, employing a sampler, synthesizer, and distorted vocals.

Kami Van Halst dominates as the vocalist performing both growls and soaring vocals (Surviving Suzanne), Scott Greene (Derina Harvey Band/Dirty Pool) and Tara McLeod (Kittie) craft the guitar work while Brendan McMillan (bass) (My Darkest Days) and Brett Seaton (drums) (Cultured by Fire) drive the rhythm section of the band. Kami’s range and virtuosic vocal ability always captivates an audience and her attitude on stage truly delivers the meaning behind the songs. The band’s live performance is a theatrical experience as they utilize full-costumes, make-up and stage props.

Full album stream “World of Make Believe” –

Music Videos:

Save Me –

Questions (Please be advised this video shows scenes of violence towards women. This is intended to raise awareness about victim blaming. ) –

‘World of Make Believe’ is available on iTunes and Bandcamp.

1. The End (4:31)
2. Save Me (4:12)
3. Ryan’s Song (4:11)
4. World of Make Believe (3:46)
5. Questions (3:23)
6. Denying Eyes (4:08)
7. Monster (3:29)
8. Plastic Smile (5:11)
9. Put Him Down (4:33)
10. Perfect Storm (4:44)

Album Length: 42:14

For more info:

Leave a Reply