Instrumental Prog Metal THE DEAD CENTURIES Premiere “Attack of The Mutant” via PureGrainAudio Debut Album “Race Against Time” Out Jan 26th, 2018

For fans of Animals As Leaders, Scale The Summit, Protest the Hero, Periphery, Intervals

Instrumental Prog Metal THE DEAD CENTURIES Premiere “Attack of The Mutant” via PureGrainAudio

Debut Album “Race Against Time” Out Jan 26th, 2018

L-R – Jacob McSheffrey – Guitar , Bryant McNamara – Drums, Adam Tremblett – Guitar (Photo Credit: Adrienne Row-Smith)

Visionary and highly influential writer Michael Moorcock, who worked with the bands Hawkwind and Blue Oyster Cult, memorably stated that ‘it is the business of the future to be dangerous’.

Ottawa three-piece THE DEAD CENTURIES are both futuristic and dangerous…which is as it should be. Influenced by Protest The Hero, Periphery, Paul Gilbert, Sithu Aye and Intervals, THE DEAD CENTURIES can easily hold their heads up in such exalted company.

Composing and performing technically precise instrumental progressive metal, THE DEAD CENTURIESare rich in virtuosity, melody, compositional skills, and most importantly…they create superb music to listen to. This isn’t the sound of three musicians showing off their undoubted skills, rather they are serving their songs above all else, with every fibre of their beings, every neuron firing in their minds, every tendon in their bodies. In a sense it is as if the three musicians that make up THE DEAD CENTURIES have become one mind in their own music.

Set to unleash their debut album “Race Against Time” on January 26th, 2018, the full length features ten tracks of melodic, high energy and refreshing material. Full of hook and sinker tracks, shining guitar riffs and overall escapades through their instrumental progressive metal has to offer.

Guitarist Adam Tremblett comments:

“The album title “Race Against Time” is loosely representative of the experience writing, recording, and preparing the collection of songs. Throughout the process there have been band member changes, last minute rewrites, and several other testing circumstances. These have only served to further determine The Dead Centuries to release a high quality release that truly represents the band as a whole.”

Teaming up with PureGrainAudio, the trio premiere their second single “Attack of The Mutant” that features a guest guitar solo from Jeff Tremblett, brother of TDC guitarist Adam Tremblett.

Adam Tremblett adds:

“’Attack of the Mutant’ is the heaviest song of the album thus far, using down tuned guitar and bass along with dissonant harmony to give the feeling of tension throughout the introduction. This tension is then resolved by a melodic, upbeat chorus which leads into another heavy section, followed by a guitar solo, and the album’s first guest solo. The song ends with several heavy parts, with the final section building into an extremely dissonant broken ‘computer’ sounding part.”

Listen to “Attack of The Mutant” at the following link:

Album pre-order for “Race Against Time” is available on the band’s bandcamp hereiTunes and Google Play.

First Single – Song Stream – “Overdrive” ft. guest guitar solo James Krul (Mandroid Echostar) –

Track Listing:
1. Freddy Lounds (4:07)
2. Gotham (4:18)
3. Reboot (3:33)
4.Tree Fort (5:49)
5. Blood Dragon (4:34)
6. Attack of The Mutant (3:57) ft. guest solo Jeff Tremblett
7. Venus Gospel (4:52)
8. Overdrive (4:29) ft. guest guitar solo James Krul (Mandroid Echostar)
9. Attack of The Mutant Pt. II (4:40)
10. Souvenir (5:14)
Album Length: 45:37

Album Band Line Up:
– Adam Tremblett – Guitar, Bass, Programming
– Bryant McNamara – Drums

Live Band Line Up:
– Adam Tremblett – Guitar
– Bryant McNamara – Drums
– Jacob McSheffrey – Guitar

For more info:
(Bio written by Steve Earles)

Leave a Reply